Saturday, February 11, 2017

Eos Sextet | 1st Prize | ENKOR Int'l Chamber Music Competition 2016/17


Eos Sextet 
Samuel Detweiler, soprano saxophone
Curren Myers, alto saxophone
Fangyi Niu, alto saxophone
Grace Chen, tenor saxophone
Andrew Lammly
Justin Rollefson, baritone saxophone
Score: 92.06

The Eos Sextet is an exciting chamber ensemble devoted to expanding the possibilities of saxophone chamber music. The Eos Sextet has worked to create a new set of repertoire for the saxophone sextet medium. By commissioning contemporary works from composers such as Gregory Wanamaker, Carl Schimmel, and David Dies, in addition to creating original arrangements of classic masterworks, Eos continues to build upon the rich tradition of saxophone chamber music in an innovative way. In November of 2015, Eos was awarded first prize in the international Art of Chamber Music Competition, hosted by the Great Composers Competition.

The members of the Eos Sextet are students of Dr. Christopher Creviston at the Arizona State University School of Music, where they formed in 2016.

"Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70, Mvt. III - Pyotr Tchaikovsky (6'30"")

Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70, Mvt. IV - Pyotr Tchaikovsky (6'30"")

Two Scenes from the Shrine of the Crossing of the Birds, Mvt. I - Carl Schimmel (3')

Two Scenes from the Shrine of the Crossing of the Birds, Mvt. II - Carl Schimmel (2'20"")