Saturday, February 11, 2017

The Myrska Trio | 2nd Prize | ENKOR Int'l Chamber Music Competition 2016/17


The Myrska Trio 
Justus Ross, violin
Andrew Schoen, saxophone
Brooke Trapp, piano
Score: 89.58

The Myrska Trio is a unique collaborative ensemble new to the West Texas chamber music scene. Formed in 2016 at Texas Tech University, the ensemble consists of Justus Ross (violin), Andrew Schoen (saxophone), and Brooke Trapp (piano). The trio is committed to performing standard ensemble transcriptions as well as expanding the repertoire of this uncommon instrumentation.

Contrasts for Violin, Clarinet, and Piano - Mvt. 3 - Sebes, Bela Bartok, 6:53
Five Pieces for Two Violins and Piano - Mvt. 1 - Prelude, Dmitri Shostakovich, 2:41
Cantilene et Danse - Mvt. 2 - Danse, Marc Eychenne, 6:13